Feisty Fawn

After discussing some Linux things with Dave this weekend and being without my webserver for the past few weeks, I realized that I missed having a Linux box to mess around with. Then I remembered that I had a Fedora partition that I hardly ever used. It was pretty outdated, though, so I figured a fresh install would be best.

I decided to go with Ubuntu, which seems to be the favorite Linux flavor amongst the nerds currently. The installation process was the easiest Linux install I’ve ever done, which was nice. With the latest versions, the desktop install CD is actually a Live CD, so you can explore Ubuntu a bit without doing any install at all. Once you’re ready to go, launch the install process right from the desktop. The only sort of advanced thing I had to do was to manually partition the hard drive, because I wanted to preserve my NTFS partitions. Other than that, cake.

Dave completely ditched Windows back in February, but I decided to keep my XP partitions intact. Right out of the install, I was able to access the NTFS partitions without any problems. This allowed me to access all my mp3s and photos and such without days of copying things around. I’m a fan of that. So far, things have gone pretty smoothly.

As of now, I’ll be using Linux as my primary OS. Should be fun.

4 thoughts on “Feisty Fawn

  1. can ubuntu 6.06 partition my hardisk and leave my windows files intact please inform me of this coz i have xp as my current os and i want to try ubuntu 6.06 in parallel with windows xp so at boot time i select ubuntu or xp

  2. i also downloaded solaris 10 6 cds and i wish to try installing it as the third os its all about learning and surveying which linux os fits my needs and the convenience.my pc has 128mb ram and ubuntu couldnt start live cd session can i sort this out without upgrading memory? thanks in advance

  3. hey benard.

    question 1: i think so. i’ve always had a fresh hard drive that i partitioned with the Linux install. so, i could create new partitions for all the OSs i wanted. this time, i already had a Linux partition that i just installed into. partitioning HDs is obviously a dangerous activity, don’t blame me if it doesn’t work.

    question 2: the Ubuntu desktop edition page states that 256 MB of ram is required. there might be a non-live CD type install somewhere that can run with less ram, though. you should try searching for that.

    how well does XP run on 128 MBs of ram? it might be time for an upgrade.

    good luck.

  4. I recently defected from Slackware to Ubuntu. It’s okay if you replace the hulking window manager with something lightweight, snobby, and elitist like Fluxbox.

Comments are closed.